2 Bloggers 1 Post: Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter, Lollipop

13 Jun

There is a CVS about 2 blocks away from my house so I usually visit there at least 3 times a week.  Whether I’m picking up a box of Raisinetes to feed a late night candy craving, or just strolling in to pick up a bottle of champagne for afternoon mimosas… rest assured, I always leave with something that I don’t need.  The trip that I made when I picked up this Lip Butter was no exception.

You can hear the good, the bad, and the ugly from 2 bloggers in this post. . .

What is 2 Bloggers 1 Post?:  I invite another blogger to give their opinion on the product that I am reviewing today.

Website description:

  • Hydrating mango, shea and coconut butter formula boosts lip moisture by 156%
  • Pampering gel formula provides super charged hydration and glides on lips buttery smooth
  • Sheer to medium colour with buttery shine
  • Available in 20 luscious shades

My thoughts:  Holy pigment, Batman!  I did one swipe over my top and bottom lip and it was BRIGHT.  Now, if this were a lipstick I would expect that kind of color payoff.  However, Revlon describes this as being a balm with sheer to medium coverage.  I would describe it as being more opaque.  It has a nice shine to it, just like a gloss would.  It is also moisturizing, but not as hydrating as a full-blown lip balm.  The color is gorgeous, it’s a red-based fuchsia with a blue/purple duo-chrome finish.

I also want to point out that Revlon claims that this product will “boost your lip moisture by 156%.”  I think making claims like that is absolutely ridiculous (Revlon is not the only company guilty of this).  First of all, we all have different lips.  Second of all, where did they come up with the number 156?  That’s like saying that a sunscreen is SPF 1500.  It’s not true, and claims like that are misleading to the consumer.

Overall:  I like the product, but I think of it more as a lipstick than a balm.  I’ve tried a few other Lip Butters that live up to the “sheer to medium” coverage that Revlon promises.  Since that is what I expected from Lollipop, that is where it loses points for me.  I feel like this is a shiny lipstick, and I was expecting more of a tinted balm.  The color reminds me a lot of MAC’s Lickable.

Glitter rating: 3 / 5

Blogger Mobile Fabulosity‘s thoughts:  I had heard so much buzz about the Revlon Lip Butters that I had finally decided to bite the bullet and see if they lived up to the hype. After making an “unexpected” trip to Ulta and seeing the “Buy 1, Get 1 50% Revlon Products” sign, I decided, “Well that just means I have to try them now.” So I obliged to purchasing one Revlon Lip Butter in Lollipop and a lip stain. I’m a sucker for bright colors so this shade seemed like a solid choice.
So here are my thoughts compared to my sparkly fellow blogger friend: It’s fabulous! However, keep in mind that I am a huge fan of bright lips and I have yet to break the habit of wearing it on a daily basis. So if you are into a more natural look, I would highly suggest exploring the other 20 shades they offer. The color is richly pigmented, which I was not expecting at all. I think it is a dead ringer for MAC’s Girl About Town and NYX’s Dolly Pink (Finishes may vary).

I wouldn’t necessarily call this product strictly a lip balm. It is, in my opinion, a hybrid of a lip balm and a lipstick. It applies much like a lip balm, but provides the pigmentation of a lipstick. Since I only really wear lip balm at night and under my lipstick application, I found this to be a perfect fit for me. Also, I discovered that it does not rub off onto your teeth like most lipsticks tend to do on me (attractive, right?)- But it does, however, rub off onto your drinking glass (bizarre) and I wouldn’t consider it a long-lasting lip product. The centers of the lips tend to wear away and you’re left with a shiny, glossy, lip liner look over time. But, I still have a feeling I will be scoring this one a little higher than my counterpart.

So if you’re a fan of a nice, rich fuchsia lip color, I would recommend this to any bright-colored lip junkie. I do also suggest checking out your local Target if you’re looking to make this purchase. Target has seemed to be the lowest price for this particular product, unless you’re a sucker for Ulta’s Buy 1, Get 1 50%. I will leave that decision up to you!
Fabulosity Rating: 4 / 5
Champagne & Glitter,
Fallon

You can purchase Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter at any drugstore.  The price ranges from $5.99-$8.99 for 0.09oz. 

5 Responses to “2 Bloggers 1 Post: Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter, Lollipop”

  1. Kristy from Nebraska! June 13, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    Since when does Fallon have a blog!?!?

    My thoughts on this product that I’ve never used…..can’t trust any make up product with the word “butter” in the name. Just doesn’t seem right. Unless it had something to do with peanut butter…yum.

  2. BlackistheNewBlack June 13, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    I LOVE this new lip butter. I purchased it in a shade close to my lip colour, and its just a nice light touch to add to the every day. For the price, I might try a few more bright colours too!
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave some sparkle love

