Hand Cream Haul

15 Nov

I’m somewhat addicted to hand creams.  There’s just something about having soft hands and a nice manicure that makes me feel ultra feminine.  My mission to find the best lotion to make my phalanges feel like butta has led me to this post.

Here’s a large part of my collection, just to give you an idea of how much research I’ve done.

 I did include my favorite hand treatment in this photo because the lotion (the last step of the treatment) was taken into consideration for this post. However, since this is strictly about hand creams, the entire treatment was not taken to account.  A hand treatment post is sure to follow though 🙂

Out of all the handcreams out on the market, it’s hard to figure out which ones to buy.  I typically purchase mine based upon reviews and price.  There were certain things I liked about each one of these, and certain ones that I didn’t like.  I’m not going to go over each lotion and salve individually, I’m just going to give you my two favorites, a budget friendly one and a high end one.

 

 

 

Budget friendly favorite:

Aveeno Intense Relief Hand Cream,  $6.99 Drugstore.com

Website description:

This unique, non-greasy and fragrance free hand cream is specially formulated with Natural Colloidal Oatmeal and rich emollients to help heal dry skin and form a protective glove against the elements. Unlike ordinary hand creams, AVEENO® Intense Relief Hand Cream protects and moisturizes skin for 24 hours and even lasts through hand washing.

The first thing that caught my eye was the “non-greasy” that’s written right on the front of the package.  Aveeno lives up to it’s promise, it is certainly non-greasy and absorbs up almost instantly.  The formula is thick but it still glides over your skin well.  I use about a nickle sized amount to cover both of my hands and tops of my wrists.  It is also unscented which makes it less irritating (if you have sensitive skin) and also boy-friendly.  However, I don’t find that the lotion keeps my skin moisturized for 24 hours, like it says.  I probably wash my hands about 6-8 times a day and I find I need to reapply after about 4 washes.  I would say it lasts for a good 6-8 hours.

You can pick this up at almost any drugstore.  Even better if you can find it on sale (I found mine at Target for around $5.00).  It only comes in one size, 3.5 oz.

Glitter rating: 4.5 / 5

High end favorite:

L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream, $26.00 loccitane.com, Sephora.com

Website description:

A super-smoothing–and best-selling–synergy of 20% Shea Butter, honey and sweet almond extract, blended with the light and alluring aromas of jasmine and ylang-ylang essences. This beauty balm glides on and absorbs to help heal, protect, and moisturize dry or dehydrated skin. Anti-oxidizing vitamin E helps nourish. Invites even the most hard-working hands to a fresh beginning.

The stand-out thing about this particular cream is how long it keeps my hands moisturized, even after washing.  One application in the morning and and in the evening keeps my hands feeling ever-so-soft.  I use a dime sized amount and it covers my entire hands.  (Also keep into consideration, I have fairly small hands.)  This lotion doesn’t absorb as quickly compared to the Aveeno one, but I find the trade off (less product, longer moisturization) to be worth it.  It is also lightly scented (made with lavender, marshmallow, and rosemary).

Another bonus?  They make a travel sized one (1.o oz) for $10.  The full sized one is $26.00 for 5.2 oz.

Glitter rating: 5 / 5

I will still continue my journey to find more great hand creams, and I will do some reviews on some of the other ones I tried but didn’t mention in this post too.  Stay tuned!

**Please excuse the dirty packages featured in these photos, for they have spent a lot of time in the bottom of my purse.**

One Response to “Hand Cream Haul”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Winter Hands Savior « Peace Love and Glitter - February 13, 2012

    […] my hands have been crazy dry!  So dry that my knuckles actually hurt!  Usually, L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream does the trick, but it’s just not cutting it nowadays.  I had to roll up my sleeves and get […]

Leave some sparkle love

